Medal of St. Dominic

Medal of St. Dominic

What is the Medal of St. Dominic?

The Medal of St. Dominic is a national award given to an individual whose life shows outstanding effort in the service of God via his or her chosen profession or volunteerism, in the spirit of both St. Dominic and the mission of the Dominican Sisters of Mary, Mother of the Eucharist. This award was instituted in order to:

  • Recognize men and women who live out this mission in ONE or MORE of the following areas:
    • In service to Spiritus Sanctus¬†Academy
    • In their chosen profession
    • In the Catholic community
    • In the community at large
  • Raise awareness of the DSMME mission and the SSA apostolate in the local community.
  • Raise the national profile of the DSMME mission.
  • Inspire others to greater involvement in the DSMME mission.

This award of highest distinction is dedicated to the founder of the Dominican Order. A scholar of great renown, St. Dominic founded the Order of Preachers to preach the Truth of the gospel to the people and to combat heresy. St. Dominic showed love and respect for all people, especially the poor. He had a great devotion to the Rosary, and he was noted for his apostolic zeal.

Each year via a nomination process, the award is presented to an individual(s) at the Spiritus Sanctus Academy Benefit Gala.

The Dominican Sisters of Mary, Mother of the Eucharist are pleased to honor Dr. Nick and Jennifer Thomm as the 2019 Medal of St. Dominic Recipients.

Click here to read about all of our past recipients of this medal.

2009 -Mr. Tom Monaghan
2010 -Mr. and Mrs. Bob Mylod
2011 -Mrs. Margaret Brusher
2012 -Fr. Ed Fride
2013 -Mr. and Mrs. Edmund Miller
2014 -Mr. Al Kresta
2015 -Mr. Philip Rivers
2016 -Priests serving SSA (Fr. Nicholas, Fr. Aaron Michka, Fr. Bill Ashbaugh, Fr. Paul Tarabay, Fr. Satheesh, Fr. Joseph Rinaldo, Fr. Richard Zang)
2017 -Mrs.Barbara Morgan
2018 -Mr. Dan Guernsey
2019 - Mr. and Mrs. Nick and Jennifer Thomm
2020 - Jim and Kerri Caviezel
2021 - Gordon Leipold